Go Back   Australian Ford Forums > General Topics > The Pub

The Pub For General Automotive Related Talk

Old 02-10-2005, 01:34 AM   #1
PH47
Ford Power, in a Merc?

Default What engine into my car?

Hi all,

I know I don't own a Ford at the moment but i've owned 9 of them, and this is still Ford related :P

I just picked up a 1967 Mercedes Benz 250SE.. black.. in excellent condition except the auto box is leaking and apparently not worth fixing. Considering the engine is also original '67 with no rebuild or anything, i'm thinking next year i'll pull it all out and throw in something like an EA-EB XR8 engine or a 302 from an XC or something..

I'm looking for ideas!

Preferably realistic and nothing too insane as i'm not loaded and i'm no mechanic.. I won't be doing it myself.. so labour costs come into the equation.

Cheers.

PH47 is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-10-2005, 06:55 AM   #2
Mike Gayner
FF.Com.Au Hardcore

I'd go a clevo if it were me, if not for the grunt then just for the sound. Go a 351 though, same size but heaps more power. I can see the merits in an injected 5.0 mind you...
Mike Gayner is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-10-2005, 08:09 AM   #3
TURBOTAXI
Turbo Falcon Fiend

What about a 1JZ or 1UZ-FE you will pay the same money (or less) for the conversion parts, but you will get better engineering and more refinement. Being a 67, you have very few ADR's to comply with - you can pretty much stuff anything into it.
TURBOTAXI is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 02-10-2005, 08:58 AM   #4
Dodge
i like to be stroked

i had a 67 230 sl and had the original 6 banger in her , but a alloy rover twin turbo would have been the ducks nuts . it has to be light or they wont steer
Old 02-10-2005, 10:00 AM   #5
jonbays
TL40 Wagon?